Amazing Grace

I am currently working on some choreography to Chris Tomlin’s song ‘Amazing Grace, My Chains Are Gone’ (listen to song above).  I will probably write multiple posts regarding this song.  I can vividly remember the first time I heard this song.  It was during a church service a couple of years ago.  I remember thinking that it was the coolest version of Amazing Grace that I had ever heard.  I was going through some tough things at the time, and this song is the only thing I remember from that service.

About six months ago, I was listening to my IPOD at work, and this song came on.  I had listened to the song quite a few times before, but on this particular day, I started hearing God tell me that I needed to dance to this song.  In the months since then, I have made excuses to not dance.  Then, about three weeks ago, I started hearing the song all the time.  Everytime I was in my car, the song would come on the radio.  Everytime I would listen to my IPOD (which is always on shuffle mode), the song would play within the first three or four songs.  It was clear that I needed to start choreographing something to this song, and I started looking for an open door to actually use the dance.

A couple of weeks ago, I had plans change one Friday night, and I ended up having dinner with someone from my church.  I knew this person, but I hadn’t really spent much time with her.  We had a great time just getting to know each other over dinner and ice cream.  I found out that she liked to dance, and we talked quite a bit about dance as a form of worship.  At one point during our conversation, she told me about the Bible study that she helped lead at the church on Monday nights.  They were doing a study on worship and were thinking about some different things they could do for the last night of the study.  She talked with the person she leads with, and they asked if I would be interested in dancing on their last night.  I knew right away that this was the song I would use.

I know that Amazing Grace is a classic hymn, but it has never been one of my favorites.  The words are great, but I think it was always one of those songs that I heard too many times.  Of course, it didn’t help that the song was a popular funeral song.  I don’t know if that was a ‘Catholic’ thing or not.  I grew up in the Catholic church, and Amazing Grace seemed to be played at every funeral.  There have been a lot of different versions of Amazing Grace, and I haven’t really liked any of the ones I’ve heard.  Until this one, that is.  I don’t know why this one is so different for me, but I can listen to it over and over and not get tired of it.  Part of the reason for that is because of the added parts of the song.  It starts out as a typical Amazing Grace rendition, but the chorus is an awesome addition, and it means a lot to me personally.

As I continue with my choreography, I know that those words will sink deeper and deeper into my heart, and they will mean even more to me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

