God’s Sense of Humor

I like to laugh.  I am drawn to people who make me laugh.  Because I am wired as a very analytical person, I have a tendency to take myself too seriously.  I rely on my friends to remind me to laugh. 

Laughter is mentioned in the Bible, but we don’t read much about Jesus sitting around, laughing with his friends.  But I’m sure he did because God has a sense of humor.  I wonder how often my anxiety over the little things causes him to chuckle, knowing that I will eventually realize that I had nothing to be anxious about.  I can just picture him laughing at my reactions to some of his humor in my life.

In the past few years, God has been working on getting me to trust my ‘gut instincts’ a little more.  I have always had very strong instincts, but I would usually dismiss them.  I think it was because they weren’t really logical most of the time, and I was taught that everything had to make sense.  I’m doing better with trusting my instincts, but I still fight the urge to just dismiss them.  It’s been a topic over the last couple of weeks as I’ve been processing some things.  I keep going back to this one day,  a couple of years ago.  I had a gentle reminder that I needed to trust my instincts more – and a reminder that God does have a sense of humor…

I had gone to the bathroom at work, and I was going to the sink to wash my hands.  In this particular bathroom, there are three sinks along the counter in front of the mirror.  There was someone at the middle sink, washing her hands.  I knew who this person was, but we had never really had a conversation before.  She worked in a different department on our floor.  As I walked to the sink, I saw this person washing her hands, and I suddenly had this thought in my head – this person is someone who times how long she washes her hands.  I had no logical reason for thinking that so I just shook it off and was about to start the debate over my sanity.  Immediately after I shrugged that thought off, though, the woman looked at me in the mirror and said, “Happy Birthday.”  I’m not sure what my face reflected, but I know that my mind was wondering what in the world she was talking about.  Then she continued, “That’s how long you should wash your hands – the length of time it takes to sing through ‘Happy Birthday’.”

Then I heard the little voice in my head – “Don’t dismiss those feelings, no matter how illogical or small.  Trust them.  They won’t always be about washing hands.”

As I walked back to my desk, I thought, “I get it.  Very funny.”

I really like knowing that God has a sense of humor, even though it is sometimes at my expense.  It is so often said that laughter is the best medicine, and I have always found that to be true.  Since we are made in God’s image, we have to believe that he has a sense of humor.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

